About The Awards

The Roger Rees Awards for Excellence in Student Performance, formerly The Gershwin Awards, was established by Camp Broadway LLC in 2011 to provide New York area students with the opportunity to participate in the National High School Musical Theater Awards (NHSMTA), a national celebration of outstanding achievement in student performance.

All public and private high schools located in Brooklyn, Bronx, Long Island, Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island and Westchester are invited to nominate for consideration a student performer who plays the Leading Male and/or Leading Female role in a full production of an officially licensed musical during the academic year. A school administrator or teacher must nominate one student only for each award category based on their performance of a qualifying role in an eligible musical. Please click here for a complete list.

Nominees will participate in a day-long audition led by a team of experienced Broadway coaches who direct students through a rehearsal and presentation of an original musical theater production number. This ensemble performance is followed by a student talent showcase that features each student actor singing a solo of a song he/she performed in their high school musical for family and friends.

A panel of industry professionals will select the Gershwin Award winners for Best Leading Actor in a Musical and Best Leading Actress in a Musical. These two students will represent the New York metro area in the National High School Musical Theater Awards which will take place at the Minskoff Theatre on Monday, June 29, 2015 following an all-expenses paid 5-day musical theatre intensive held at New York University Tisch School of the Arts Studio on Broadway.

The Gershwin Award judges will also present two additional student awards for the Male and Female Up-and-Comer. If for any reason, the Gershwin Award-winner can not participate in the national awards program, the Up-and-Comer will be moved forward.

Past Winners of the Gershwin Awards are:

  • 2015: Ryan Koerber & Marla Louissaint
  • 2014: Steven Telsey & Sarah Liddy
  • 2013: Harold Theurer & Halle Mastrobernardino
  • 2012: Joshua Schwartz & Kyra Leeds
  • 2011: Kevin Crowley & Emily Loewus

The New York area program was re-named to honor the legacy of Roger Rees.

The Gershwin Awards is presented by the Broadway Education Alliance, Disney Theatrical Productions, Camp Broadway LLC. It is supported by a wide variety of industry professionals and organizations.

For more information on The National High School Musical Theatre Awards, also known as The Jimmy Awards, visit NHSMTA.com.